LockedQuestion ; Gate as guitar effect ?

Author
Max Output Level: -25.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4951
2010/08/03 16:32:13 (permalink)

Question ; Gate as guitar effect ?

Hi,

I'm trying to create pad kind of sound with guitar.
Sorry for stupid question, can I use sonitus gate for it ?
I'm total newbie, when it comes to gate effect.

For example
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRQEB6TCCjI

He creates lovely attack with gate to guitar sound?
I'm trying to achieve something similar, slow attack for the sound.

-janne
post edited by janetski - 2010/08/03 16:33:27

15 Replies Related Threads

CJaysMusic
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 30423
    Re:Question ; Gate as guitar effect ? 2010/08/03 16:39:37 (permalink)
    That's not a gate.
    Gates do these things:
  • A gate opens and closes when the signal passes across the threshold.
  • The VCA in a Gate/Expander will turn everything down below the threshold and the VCA in a compressor will turn everything down above the threshold.
  • When the gate closes behind the sound, the gate doesn't open back up until the audio signal is above the threshold.
  • Gates are good for getting rid of ambient room noise. for example a noisy electric guitar.
  • Gates can be used as effects. They are commonly used on drum tracks to give it that 80's Phil Collins snare drum sound.
  • A gate turns the soft parts off below the threshold set by you

This effect sounds like he has a harmonizer and a chorus on his guitar. That's all.
    Cj
    post edited by CJaysMusic - 2010/08/03 16:42:03

• www.audio-mastering-mixing.com - A Professional Worldwide Audio Mixing & Mastering Studio, Providing Online And Attended Sessions. We also do TV commercials, Radio spots & spoken word books
    Audio Blog
    ba_midi
    • Total Posts : 14061
    Re:Question ; Gate as guitar effect ? 2010/08/03 18:01:46 (permalink)
    But, he in fact is using a "gate" in the stomp box (GTR3 from Waves) as "part" of the sound.

Billy Arnell (ba-midi)