Como un gorrion (Like a sparrow)

Author
NoKey
Max Output Level: -71 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 974
2010/08/04 10:39:57 (permalink)

Como un gorrion (Like a sparrow)

Hi good people,

I studied, played, and recorded this song last night. Please let me know what you think about it.

It's a song the young author composed from having met a humble girl at a cafe in Madrid. In the conversation, she described herself as a sparrow that flies close to the ground, has no jealousy for hawks, and cares herself from cats. The song and lyrics are at Soundclick:
http://www.soundclick.com...857&songID=9484507

I welcome and value critique as the best incentive to correct my lack of training and proper self-judgment.

Thanks everyone.

Songs I've produced with Sonar LE: http://www.soundclick.com...ult.cfm?bandID=1086857

7 Replies Related Threads

peggysuechan
    Max Output Level: -79 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 581
    Re:Como un gorrion (Like a sparrow) 2010/08/06 00:47:27 (permalink)
    The timing is off to the point of sounding out of tune.
    I don't like the instruments you use in the intro.  They sound so midi-ish.  
    I could never figure out what the piano line was trying to do. It just didn't sound in sync with the organ.
    The organ kept cutting off abruptly instead of fading naturally.
    That ending instrument was ugly and midi-sounding.
    Pleasing melody.
    Your voice was the best thing. You sang with such passion, it made the song worth listening to, no matter the quality.

I'm not good at sequencing myself, so I can't help you with any tips, can't tell you how to correct anything. I mostly just plug and play, piano and stringpad. Unimaginative, I know.

But keep on. You've got a good idea in mind here. We can hear it trying to form. It's just not there yet.

If I'm practicing a sin, I'm going to Hell.
    If I'm obeying Jesus, I'm going to Heaven. 

SusieChan.com
    NoKey
    Re:Como un gorrion (Like a sparrow) 2010/08/06 01:07:04 (permalink)