PERFECT DRUMS

Author
taylor93112
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 24
2010/08/04 11:53:39 (permalink)

PERFECT DRUMS

as you will see in this post, im very new to recording. im getting ready to start recording drums and i want them to sound as great as i can. i have 2 overheads, a kick, snare, and two tom mics. i want to know the best ways to record them so i can edit the drums after recording and it will actually sound great. any tips and techniques would be great.

8 Replies Related Threads

Chregg
    Max Output Level: -51.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2382
    Re:PERFECT DRUMS 2010/08/04 12:05:11 (permalink)
    Try and position one of the over heads to pick up the floor tom, the other over head to get the hat, and mic the rest up as it is(two toms, snare and kick) as far as the over heads go picking up the hat and floor tom, once you have done the recording, use a gate on the tracks(overhead for hat and floor tom) to get rid of over spill, that at least should do the trick, either that or use a bit of common sense with mic placement,hope this helps
    Chregg
    Max Output Level: -51.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2382
    Re:PERFECT DRUMS 2010/08/04 12:08:32 (permalink)
    at the same time, watch because most overhead mics are condenser mics, you would want a dynamic for the floor tom, try experimenting with your mic placement, or try and get hold of a dynamic mic for the floor tom(sm 57, cant go worng if **** all else is available
    Twigman
    Max Output Level: -38.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3667
    Re:PERFECT DRUMS 2010/08/04 12:12:38 (permalink)
    IME mic positioning is hyper important

The differences between miking the top, body or bottom of the snare is huge.....and mic bleed can always be a problem

Become a Fan on Facebook
    Buy our stuff on iTunes
    Q9550-P5QL-E-8GB1066RAM-GT9800 1GB-RME HDSP9632-W7Prox64-X2x64
    CJaysMusic
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 30423
    Re:PERFECT DRUMS 2010/08/04 12:24:10 (permalink)