"Breathe" (First Attempt at Recording/One of the First Songs I've Ever Written)

Author
SnyderTrigger
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 177
2010/08/08 22:43:13 (permalink)

"Breathe" (First Attempt at Recording/One of the First Songs I've Ever Written)

Well, so two days or so of learning how to use Sonar - I recorded this. This is one of the first songs (in fact, I think it was my second) I've ever written, and this is my first time recording/mixing/EQ-ing and whatnot, so be nice. ;) I had to record the guitars (I only used an acoustic and a bass), then go back and sing over the track I made (which was a pain in the butt) Criticism is appreciated! What else mixing/EQ-wise should I do? Or, in other words, whats the next step in the process?

I exported it in RAFF, then imported that into Audacity, which is where I converted it to mp3 - so the quality may have been lost a little bit. 

Also, I know that the bass might be a bit too loud, but I made the mistake of EQing my voice wayyyy too much. Too many high pass filters, and just too much fooling around with the vocals in general...so it made the voice sound a little brittle - I tried to compensate for it by turning up the bass a little bit, hopefully picking up some of the low end that the vocals lost. 

Thanks!

EDIT: Sorry about that - here's the link to SoundClick:

http://soundclick.com/share?songid=9502658

post edited by SnyderTrigger - 2010/08/09 00:56:17

16 Replies Related Threads

savageopera
    Max Output Level: -78 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 625
    Re:"Breathe" (First Attempt at Recording/One of the First Songs I've Ever Written) 2010/08/09 00:19:10 (permalink)
    Mr. Snyder,  Most songwriters on this forum use soundclick, it's free and is set up perfectly to help make things easy.  Your fellow cakewalkers will find it more convenient to listen than to download each time. Looking forward to hearing your work and welcome to the forum.........Ron