Boss BR-800

Author
nocoJack
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 25
2010/08/11 13:35:15 (permalink)

Boss BR-800

I just picked up a Boss BR-800 that came with Sonar LE included. 

It seems like a lot of people get good use out of the LE version (especially with packaged DAW interfaces) and many upgrade to the full version. 

I'll be trying out this new toy and will let you guys know what I learn about the software and hardware.

5 Replies Related Threads

nocoJack
    Re:Boss BR-800 2010/08/13 09:31:59 (permalink)
    So I'm new to Midi... and after a few minutes of messing with Sonar LE, I got it to make sounds with the most basic Wavetable and Roland G5 synth. 

After a few hours of fiddling with the system, I found 3 other embedded synths and was able to make sounds as well.  When selecting notes, I was able to get the synth sounds.  When running "play," the midi tracks would not make any sound.  I clicked "quantize" under the FX section and for some reason, that worked.  My current assumption is that I could download new synth racks and get them to work.

I plugged in a Korg Kaoss pad to my M-Audio interface (since the Boss Br-800 doesn't have a midi-in-out).  I ran the midi-out from the Kaoss to the in of the M-Audio and in to out.  My assumption was that I could access the synth sounds from the Kaoss and have that run on my computer.  The sound banks on the Kaoss light up and cycle with the different selections on Sonar (all off by 1... so if I select 74 on my computer, 73 lights up on my Kaoss)... but I don't get any sound yet.  I have a midi-synth keyboard that I'll try also to see if I can learn something about it... then apply it to the Kaoss.
    Casi
    • Total Posts : 1
    Re:Boss BR-800 2010/11/07 04:38:17 (permalink)