Basic, Basic, Boringly Basic Redundant Question

Author
Pommerntat
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 10
2010/09/30 03:20:58 (permalink)

Basic, Basic, Boringly Basic Redundant Question

Hi, this is my very first post here.  I am a nubie of sorts, but not new to Cakewalk software, as I have been a Cakewalk user since Pro Audio 4.01, and every version through Pro Audio 9.  I know this is ancient stuff.  I had several hardware MIDI modules connected through an old parallel port interface called a "Midiator."  It worked well with Win98's MIDI capabilities.  The Home studio7 interface looks pretty familiar.  The Sonar 8.5 interface looks like something from another planet.

My windows 98 machine finally croaked so I decided to try to bring things up to date.  The Midiator is now useless, as drivers beyond win98 don't exist.  I still have those 5 or 6 rack mount synths, and a swell Peavey 88-note MIDI Controller with hammer action made in Italy (believe it or not).  I don't see any reason to chuck this gear.  All that being said, I have no clue on how to interface these boxes with Sonar or Home Studio.  The tutorials talk about "drivers," but ain't no driver for a Roland D-550 or a Korg Trinity I'm aware of.  I know I need a MIDI-USB or 1394 "mixer" of sorts, but that still leaves me with the logical interface with the software and its soft synths.   

So.  Where can I turn for direction?  Thanks a bunch to anyone who can steer me.

I built a Win7 Pro Intel Q8600 Quad with 4g memory, WD Raptor drive, Seagate 750gb data drive, Nvidea Geforce GT8800. I managed to shoehorn it all into a 3U rack mount case (which I strongly do not recommend.)

Heeelp!? 

PS Why does Roland feel the need to sell shampoo?

24 Replies Related Threads

planetearth
    Max Output Level: -75 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 763
    Re:Basic, Basic, Boringly Basic Redundant Question 2010/09/30 04:28:21 (permalink)
    What is it you want to know specifically?