Non-DAW Consumer PC Recommendation?

Author
dmbaer
Max Output Level: -49.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2585
2010/11/08 14:38:04 (permalink)

Non-DAW Consumer PC Recommendation?

My mother needs a new PC to replace their 10 year old relic.  I have little experience with this level of processor ... probably 2G memory, whatever HD is standard issue these days, and certainly no need of 4 core hyperthread, etc.  In other words, your basic off the shelf consumer model will more than get the job done.

I've never had a good opinion of Dell.  How About HP?  Any others that I should consider in making a recommendation to her?

Thanks.

13 Replies Related Threads

djwayne
    Max Output Level: -55 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2021
    Re:Non-DAW Consumer PC Recommendation? 2010/11/08 15:00:49 (permalink)
    My mother recently bought a MSI laptop, for about $550. It has 4 gigs memory and a 500 gig hard drive...it's been running perfect for her. It really is a very nice laptop. She's very happy with it.
    dmbaer
    Re:Non-DAW Consumer PC Recommendation? 2010/11/08 18:57:10 (permalink)
    djwayne

My mother recently bought a MSI laptop, for about $550. It has 4 gigs memory and a 500 gig hard drive...it's been running perfect for her. It really is a very nice laptop. She's very happy with it.

Thanks.  They want a desktop, not a laptop.

But I realize I should have asked an additional question.  It seems that the majority of models in their price range have AMD inside.  I've never run anthing other than Intel inside.  I have to assume that given the volume of sales, AMD must be a safe choice ... but I can't help feeling some reservations.  This is probably a silly notion.  Any comments, anyone?
    jimmyrage
    Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 238
    Re:Non-DAW Consumer PC Recommendation? 2010/11/08 19:13:45 (permalink)
    Asus makes complete systems now. Seems like I've seen a few in the $500.00 range.
    djwayne
    Max Output Level: -55 dBFS