Importing and editing midi files

Author
Charlie Miller
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2010/11/17 12:55:30 (permalink)

Importing and editing midi files

Dear Community!

I'm a performing singer/guitarist and I've finally admitted to myself that I need to join the modern age! I have Sonar 6 producer edition but I am a complete novice.
I need to import midi files and edit them to produce simple backing tracks for live use.
Sorry this is such a simplistic query - but could anyone point me in the right direction for online instruction or DVD tutorials in this specific area?

Many thanks to all you experts out there for your time.

Charlie.

3 Replies Related Threads

tomas gato
    Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 130
    Re:Importing and editing midi files 2010/11/17 21:12:05 (permalink)
    Aloha  Charlie,

I'm not sure what you have in mind exactly.  You have midi files from someone else you want to edit?  You can do that.  BUT
    the how to do it so that you have something useful at the end of the process is the hard part.  I would recommend you read the tutorials here about midi --- go to the top of this page
    you will see a tab titled SUPPORT  clik that
    look down to the heading SONAR clik that   
    inside you will see all the different versions of Sonar - clik on yours
    look for the heading  ONLINE RESOURCES
    inside that folder is the Desktop Music Handbook.
    All the midi info is in there and then some.  

You won't have all your answers but you will have a good start.
    Read thru all this info. (It's not as much as it appears).
    Using midi is very similar to playing a musical instrument - it's complicated.
    Jump in and mess about but don't think it's gonna make a whole lot of sense at first.  It will be a while before you have GOOD results unless you are very clever and/or lucky.