General Questions/Fears About Upgrade Leap!

Author
Quill
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 33
2010/11/18 15:19:21 (permalink)

General Questions/Fears About Upgrade Leap!

Hi all...

I am a S7 Pro user, and this new X1 deal has me trying to get past my terrible phobia about "breaking something that ain't broke".

I want to upgrade to 8.5 pro and get the x1 pro. My system is compatible, etc.  My fear is about plug ins, both Cakewalk and others (IK, NI, and a few others)

Can you guys either give me a "Man, go on and DO it already!", or a "Yeah, you have every right to be a big chicken.... its gonna be a freakin' nightmare" affirmation?

Specifically, what happens,when I install 8.5, to all of the xtras that came with S7 Pro? Will 8.5 find everything ok? Will I end up with 2 versions of Sonar xtras like LP64 and Dimension Pro and such, or is the install smart enough to help protect me from the dreaded clutter monsters?

I am so into the Pro strip idea that it is worth a moderate amount of backside pain, as I am an old dude and the console strip concept takes me back to the old days.

I look forward to all of your help and opinions and stories.  I use this board infrequently, but am always impressed with everyone's knowledge and assistance.

Thanks

Q

5 Replies Related Threads

kevo
    Max Output Level: -70 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1038
    Re:General Questions/Fears About Upgrade Leap! 2010/11/18 15:41:13 (permalink)
    Not sure what your afraid of.

Do a HD image, then install Sonar X1. If you didn't like it, simply restore your drive.

Simple.

You can use acronis true image, or norton ghost to do drive images.

So if you're looking for an "Atta Boy!" 
    ATTA BOY!  Go For It! :)

kevo
    Max Output Level: -70 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1038
    Re:General Questions/Fears About Upgrade Leap! 2010/11/18 15:43:03 (permalink)
    not sure what happened.  Had a duplicate post.
    post edited by kevo - 2010/11/18 16:15:10
    AT