Recording a banjo

Author
5string
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 7
2010/12/09 17:59:11 (permalink)

Recording a banjo

Well i am new here, I've had some experience working with sound recording when I was younger.
Demo's, Live sound, movies, videos. Now I am a retired truck driver and playing around with recording on my computer.

I am working on recording a banjo track (dry) to send to a friend in England to add to his song for a upcoming CD.
All I have at the moment is a AKG D80 and a ART preamp, Sonar 8 producer. I've sorted out the latency settings on my older computer and it seems to be stable enough and the levels seem good for what I have to work with.

I have the mic set up about 1.5 feet away and pointed at the middle of the neck. Well it sounds like crap. I've heard that means you have the banjo right

Any suggestions on mic placement for a banjo?

Great forum you have here. Looking forward to my new recording venture.

Glenn

11 Replies Related Threads

The Maillard Reaction
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31918
    Re:Recording a banjo 2010/12/09 18:13:01 (permalink)
    I wouldn't bother pointing at the neck on a banjo.

A banjo's tone will really react with a room and you'll hear lots of room if you mic from mid range.

If you mic up close you'll get less room but lose the sense of air. And you'll probably want a top of the line mic and preamps because a banjo has such and aggressive sound.

With the gear you are using I'd say that you challenge will be to try to work at mid range with the mic more or less pointed near the center of the skin.

The trick is you will need to work hard to find the best place in the room for you to play as well as the best place to put the mic after you've found the best place in the room to play.

If you have a very large room or are out on the porch everything will sound much different.