Advice on sound

Author
TheEdman
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 8
2010/12/13 22:30:38 (permalink)

Advice on sound

Hi I'm new at this hardware and so far I recording a couple songs but I play it and it sounds all hissy and kinda distorted so what do I do??? Do I need a audio hardware???

Specs:

Windows XP
SoundMax Interal Audio
and Music Creator Le 5

3 Replies Related Threads

Beagle
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 50621
    Re:Advice on sound 2010/12/13 22:34:16 (permalink)
    what are you recording?  guitar?  vocals?  are you plugging in direct?  using a microphone?

using the onboard soundcard is always going to be lower quality.  there are some recommendations on my website.

http://soundcloud.com/beaglesound/sets/featured-songs-1
    i7, 16G DDR3, Win10x64, MOTU Ultralite Hybrid MK3
    Yamaha MOXF6, Hammond XK3c, other stuff.
    Guitarhacker
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re:Advice on sound 2010/12/14 07:48:33 (permalink)
    Yeah...welcome...

First, I would look at upgrading the sound card by buying an external USB card. (also called an interface) Many noise and other problems are caused by the factory card..... so upgrading is one of the best first big steps you can take.

My website & music: www.herbhartley.com

MC4/5/6/X1e.c, on a Custom DAW   
    Focusrite Firewire Saffire Interface

BMI/NSAI

"Just as the blade chooses the warrior, so too, the song chooses the writer 
    Robomusic
    • Total Posts : 8943
    Re:Advice on sound 2010/12/14 16:50:57 (permalink)