Need Advice Getting Started

Author
skylark820
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2010/12/28 03:45:51 (permalink)

Need Advice Getting Started

I'm new at all of this, and would appreciated some help/advice as I'm utterly confused.

The following are the equipments I have:

- Yamaha Keyboard - PSR-E323 to be exact, with 1 MIDI In and 1 MIDI Out port.
- Yamaha UX16, which is supposed to directly connect the keyboard to my computer.
- Shure microphone
- A MIDI-microphone cable
- Yamaha steinberg CI1 audio interface

What I want to do is play my piano as one track, and record my voice via the mic as another, and put the two together to make a song.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

2 Replies Related Threads

RabbitSeason
    Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 201
    Re:Need Advice Getting Started 2010/12/30 09:27:20 (permalink)
    Hi Reina, and welcome to the forum.

Have you already bought a Cakewalk product, or are you looking for advice on which product to buy?

Do you want record your piano as a MIDI track and/or an audio track?  With the CI1 you could record both piano and voice as audio tracks and create songs that way.

I wasn't familiar with the UX16, but I just did a quick Google search.  I don't know if problems would arise using two different interfaces (one MIDI, one audio).  I always assumed people were using only one.  There are smarter people than me on this forum, and I'm sure they can answer that.

One more thing - it's not important right this second, but you might want to list your computer specs the next time you post.

Computer: 2.5 GHz Core2Quad, 6GB, Windows 7 Home Premium, Sonar X1d, Edirol UA-25
    Instruments: Carvin 5-string bass, Ovation Acoustic, Parker P-38, Baldwin DG100 keyboard, Vito alto sax
    Toys: POD 2.0, Zoom RFX-1000
    Kalle Rantaaho
    Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7005
    Re:Need Advice Getting Started 2010/12/30 11:05:21 (permalink)