Couple questions

Author
DevNullWest
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 15
2010/12/31 19:28:22 (permalink)

Couple questions

I'm generally liking X1 a lot, but then I had been using HS6XL for several years, so this is like 4 years worth of technology/UI upgrades all at once for me.  There are a couple minor things that have me scratching my head...

First, when I use the studio Inst, like the SI - Bass Guitar, I have no problems inserting it, and routing a pre-existing midi track into it.  It shows as active in the synth rack.  But I get no sound out of it until I do something that seems very odd to me... I have to go to the synth track, expand the track to see the edit filter, go to Automation-->SI-Bass, and select "Enabled".  Then I get sound.  If I do this again, the sound stops again, so it toggles.  The synth is still "on" in the synth rack, regardless.  This just seems weird to me.  I don't get what the edit filter settings have to do with getting sound out of the synth.

The other thing I can't figure out is, one of my midi track's volume controls shows a tiny icon that looks like an automation envelope, right on top of the control.  I'm not sure what I did to put it there, and can't figure out how to remove it.  My other midi tracks don't have that little icon.  I'm sure it indicates an automation setting on that control, but I'd like to get rid of it.

It's the tiny white triangular icon right above the volume control: 

5 Replies Related Threads

PeterMc
    Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 504
    Re:Couple questions 2010/12/31 22:09:29 (permalink)
    Hey, cool, I never noticed that little squiggle. Set the edit filter for that track back to "Clips". It appears when the filter is set to the automation/volume setting. Can't help with your other question at the moment.

Cheers, Peter.

i5 6500, H170M, Intel HD 530, 16GB, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Win 10 Pro (1803) (64 bit), Cakewalk by Bandlab

DevNullWest