Paid media work - Any tips?

Author
mattplaysguitar
Max Output Level: -55.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1992
2011/01/07 04:27:50 (permalink)

Paid media work - Any tips?

Well I friend of mine recommended me to a company who is starting up in media and looking for a sound guy to record voiceovers and compose back tracks for promotional videos and general mixing of all these things. They sound pretty interested which is nice to hear. I am a mechanical engineer (just completed my degree) so have no formal training in audio engineering (but 6-7 years experience). I have done a few little things like this before but nothing serious or paid.

They asked me for a ballpark rate at which I would charge and my research found that studios in Australia charge upwards from $50AU per hour (this is the bare minimum). So I figured $30AU per hour was appropriate considering my level of experience and lack of official qualifications. To put that in perspective for the US folk, a typical factory warehouse job in australia might be $17-$20 per hour. As a mechanical engineer I would probably start out on around $30 per hour. So for a job like this which is just work when there is work, I think $30 is reasonable.

No specific questions here. Just looking for any general advice or tips from people who may have done similar work before. A friend suggested I get myself some nice sound FX samples for potential use in commercials that I may mix so I'll do that. I'll have to widen my knowledge of synthesiser use as well. I guess I'll be mainly mixing for internet distribution as well so any tips for that might come in handy too.

Cheers!

Currently recording my first album, so if you like my music, please follow me on Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/mattlyonsmusic

www.mattlyonsmusic.com 

8 Replies Related Threads

The Maillard Reaction
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31918
    Re:Paid media work - Any tips? 2011/01/07 06:19:09 (permalink)