Recording Bass using Piano Roll

Author
Dr Philip Pollock
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2011/01/08 04:35:29 (permalink)

Recording Bass using Piano Roll

Hi Guys

I'm a newbie to Guitar Pro4 and I'm struggling with creating my own bass lines for tracks. I don't want to use patterns available and want to add my own to tracks. I can use record both my own guitar tracks and use available drum patterns, but I can't figure out how to create bass lines. Can anyone give me an idiot's walk-through about how to do this without using a bass to record??!! Do I use piano roll or what?

Cheers for any help

Philip

4 Replies Related Threads

xxxlambo
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 68
    Re:Recording Bass using Piano Roll 2011/01/21 15:52:50 (permalink)
    It depends on what you have.  If you don't have a MIDI controller (i.e. an electric piano) then yes you can use the piano roll and mouse click the notes in.  My personal opinion is that will be painful, but I know there are people that do it.  I usually use the piano roll to clean up any mistakes I made from playing on the piano, since I'm not really a piano player. 

Also I believe you can enter notes via the staff view using your mouse if you prefer.  I haven't personally done that at all so I'm not sure how easy that might be. 

if you don't have a piano to use one thing you could do if you don't mind spending a little money is getting a small keyboard, perhaps a couple of octaves.  If you need the notes being played to be an octave or 2 higher or lower, you could always highlight the notes played in the piano roll and drag them up or down.  You wouldn't need anything fancy, just something to talk to the computer (aka a controller).  Much easier than mouse clicks, but that is just my opinion.

Hope this helps
    SteveStrummerUK
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31112
    Re:Recording Bass using Piano Roll 2011/01/22 10:02:09 (permalink)