Using Cakewalk Studio Instruments to trigger midi file sounds

Author
BUDMEISTER
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
2011/01/15 09:52:59 (permalink)

Using Cakewalk Studio Instruments to trigger midi file sounds

Hi folks. I'm really quite new to the Cakewalk software and need advice. I currently use Cubase to edit midi files and use Roland Virtual sound Canvas to trigger my midi file sounds. I've moved to windows 7 and my Virtual Sound Canvas software is not compatable with the windows 7 platform. I'm thinking of buying Cakewalk Studio Instruments to run alongside my Cubase program. Will this be possible? in short, I want to open a midi file using Cubase and have the midi file trigger the Studio Instrument.sounds. Is this possible and how do I do it? Many thanks

3 Replies Related Threads

Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re:Using Cakewalk Studio Instruments to trigger midi file sounds 2011/01/15 11:25:31 (permalink)
    I'm not sure if CW and CB will work together... why not just use Cakewalk to do it all? Trying to sync 2 different apps from 2 companies sounds like an exercise in frustration.

Cake allows me to do it all "in the box" with one program.  I recommend Music Creator 5 at $40 from your local big box retailer. It has VST support, and runs every synth I've ever tried to load...without problems. You didn't mention the soundcard.... and that plays a huge factor in how well any DAW will perform.

My website & music: www.herbhartley.com

MC4/5/6/X1e.c, on a Custom DAW   
    Focusrite Firewire Saffire Interface

BMI/NSAI

"Just as the blade chooses the warrior, so too, the song chooses the writer 
    BUDMEISTER
    Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 6
    Re:Using Cakewalk Studio Instruments to trigger midi file sounds 2011/01/16 05:43:40 (permalink)