Gain Setting

Author
ardjunc
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 39
2011/01/25 13:21:30 (permalink)

Gain Setting

I am new to Sonar and would appreciate any observations and advise more seasoned users can offer on the use of the channel gain control.

I'm assuming the control functions the same as the input gain of any stand alone mixer and is most often used to adjust the input signal to provide optimum range of the channel volume fader.

If my assumption is correct will turning down the channel gain to accommodate pushing up the output of my Line 6 POD to reduce background noise from the unit have an impact on the recorded signal? I am bypassing my mic preamp and plugging the Line 6 directly in to the sound card.

I have a related question regarding the gain setting on my M-Audio DMP3 preamp. Is it best to try to get the preamp gain knob(s) up around the 2:00-4:00 position? I always thought you get less noise from equipment at near max output.

Thanks,

Ardjunc

Sonar Producer X3d Expanded
Advanced Studio by J. Roseberry
i5 760
8 GB RAM
W7 X64
M-Audio: Audiophile 192, DMP3

6 Replies Related Threads

ba_midi
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14061
    Re:Gain Setting 2011/01/25 13:50:45 (permalink)
    ardjunc

I am new to Sonar and would appreciate any observations and advise more seasoned users can offer on the use of the channel gain control.

I'm assuming the control functions the same as the input gain of any stand alone mixer and is most often used to adjust the input signal to provide optimum range of the channel volume fader.

If my assumption is correct will turning down the channel gain to accommodate pushing up the output of my Line 6 POD to reduce background noise from the unit have an impact on the recorded signal? I am bypassing my mic preamp and plugging the Line 6 directly in to the sound card.