Which version of Sonar is easier to learn and use?

Author
syntheticpop
Max Output Level: -77 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 688
2011/02/06 11:47:52 (permalink)

Which version of Sonar is easier to learn and use?

8.5 or X1?

Some of the learning materials I would use are the manual, the help file, Cakewalk videos and 3rd party videos along with the Sonar Power Book by Scott Garrigus.

8 Replies Related Threads

osd
    Max Output Level: -84 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 345
    Re:Which version of Sonar is easier to learn and use? 2011/02/06 12:55:42 (permalink)
    Are you new to Sonar, are coming from a different version? Edit: (with 500 posts, it's probably safe to assume you've been around the block with Sonar.)

I'm new to Sonar, and purchased and installed 8.5 and X1 simultaneously, so I had no big investment in either workflow. After playing with both, I went with X1. I prefer the GUI and prochannel, though X1 behaves a little odd when I'm behind the wheel compared to 8.5.

It's the age-old question with software upgrades. Jump to a new version with new featureset but some bugs, or stay with the older, more patched version.    

Good luck on your decision.

post edited by osd - 2011/02/06 12:57:41
    FastBikerBoy
    Forum Host
    • Total Posts : 11326
    Re:Which version of Sonar is easier to learn and use? 2011/02/06 12:59:29 (permalink)
    Depends on where you want to go eventually. I prefer X1 others will recommend 8.5.

X1 is buggy but I'm assuming that will be fixed. 8.5 is more stable but quite different to X1. SO if you plan on staying with the latest versions as they are released you'll be better off learning X1.

If you are unlikely to move forward you may find 8.5 easier.

How's that for sitting on the fence?
    syntheticpop
    Re:Which version of Sonar is easier to learn and use? 2011/02/06 16:52:28 (permalink)
    I'm still using Sonar 8 until I get a new computer with a larger hd to handle the upgrade's install and it will be either 8.5 or X1.