Another M-Audio Fast Track question....

Author
paulclaro
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 236
2011/02/07 19:06:52 (permalink)

Another M-Audio Fast Track question....

Hey I have an M-Audio Fast Track. It is the older model I've been told, even though I just bought it. It has the control knobs in the front. Anyway how would I go about recording and, basically balancing the sound coming from the mic and guitar at the same time.  There is a button on the back that says Guitar/Line. In is for guitar and out if for Line. What position is this button supposed to be in for recording both? Probably a dumb question, but I'm still a newbie. I'm thinking that I'd have to adjust the volume of the guitar on the guitar itself and adjust the mic volume with the knob in front that says "mic input". And I'm pretty sure that the button on the front that says Stereo/Mono should be on mono. Any suggestions would be great.

Win 7 Dell intel Core i3, 2.40 ghz, 6gb RAM, 64bit OS, Sonar X3-Producer, M-Audio Fast Track, Nady SMPS-1X Condensor Mic.

3 Replies Related Threads

RobertB
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 11256
    Re:Another M-Audio Fast Track question.... 2011/02/07 20:07:34 (permalink)
    paulclaro

Anyway how would I go about recording and, basically balancing the sound coming from the mic and guitar at the same time.  There is a button on the back that says Guitar/Line. In is for guitar and out if for Line. What position is this button supposed to be in for recording both? 

That button only affects the 1/4" input. It adjusts the impedance to match your source.
    Set it to the Guitar position.

To record both mic and guitar, you need to select the inputs in Sonar.
    First, go to Options>Audio>Drivers, and make sure all of the M-Audio inputs are checked.
    Then insert two audio tracks.
    In the first, select Fast Track Microphone as the Input.
    In the second, select Fast Track Guitar Input.