Exact sounds of the Electric Drum Set to my computer

Author
Sideburns
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2011/02/08 09:35:16 (permalink)

Exact sounds of the Electric Drum Set to my computer

Hi I'm new to Cakewalk, and I've bought Cakewalk's Music Creator 5. I have underestimated its user-friendliness with my problem.

What I want to do is simply record music from my Yamaha DTXplorer (electric drum set) to my computer as clean as possible. One problem I found was that whatever I play on the drums, it just corresponds to the standard kit on Music Creator.

Example: Using a cowbell sound over my snare pad. When played and heard on Music Creator, it makes a stick sound (which is the standard set).

I'm just asking how to record whatever sound I play on the electric drums to Music Creator 5, within the easiest way as possible.

Here's what I have:
-Yamaha DTXplorer drum set / module
-Cakewalk USB MIDI Interface UM-2G
-MIDI wire
-Music Creator 5
-Not sure if this is my sound card but, SigmaTel C-Major Audio?

Thank you 

8 Replies Related Threads

RobertB
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 11256
    Re:Exact sounds of the Electric Drum Set to my computer 2011/02/08 10:23:18 (permalink)
    To record the actual sound of your DTXplorer, you will need to connect the audio line out to the line in of your sound card.
    You can record this to a normal audio track.
    The sound is not transmitted via MIDI, only data. The data triggers sound in a different sound module (in this case, the drums in MC5).

hth

My Soundclick Page
    SONAR Professional, X3eStudio,W7 64bit, AMD Athlon IIx4 2.8Ghz, 4GB RAM, 64bit, AKAI EIE Pro, Nektar Impact LX61,Alesis DM6,Alesis ControlPad,Yamaha MG10/2,Alesis M1Mk2 monitors,Samson Servo300,assorted guitars,Lava Lamp

Shimozu-Kushiari or Bob
    Sideburns
    Re:Exact sounds of the Electric Drum Set to my computer 2011/02/09 06:33:12 (permalink)