MIDI controller and Rewire question

Author
WillyWonka71
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 25
2011/02/14 11:03:48 (permalink)

MIDI controller and Rewire question

First and foremost I want to thank everything that contributes to this forum.  Your advice has been invaluable and I wanted to say a personal thank you to each and everyone of you.  You are appreciated.

On to my issue...

I am a 10 month newbie. (sounds of forum groans fill the air)  I am currently using Sonar X1 and I have more of a question than an issue.  What I am doing is using Reason 5 (Dr. OctoRex) and rewiring it thru Sonar.  No issues there.

I am using a few of their drum loops that sounds great and I want to incorporate them in my recordings.

I am using KONTAKT 4 with a piano vst and when I end up playing lower notes (Around the C1 range on the MIDI keyboard) I am changing the drum loop sequence.

In plain english.  I am playing a drum loop in Reason 5 through Sonar X1.  When playing a keyboard track WITH THE DRUMS PLAYING in Reason, when I hit lower notes on the keyboard, I change the drum sequence in Reason at the same time.

My question is how on earth do I prevent this?  Do I need to record MIDI drum loops separately THEN lay down the keybaord tracks?

I didn't know if there was a way to turn off the ability to use the keyboard at Reason drums at the same time. 

Help me Obi-Wan Kenobi....You're my only hope.

Thanks in advance!  I really appreciate your time.

-WillyWonka71

(Memphis, TN)

3 Replies Related Threads

Beagle
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 50621
    Re:MIDI controller and Rewire question 2011/02/14 11:55:00 (permalink)
    I don't have Reason, but it sounds like reason is mapped to those MIDI keybindings to change the loops whenever those MIDI notes are sent.