Switching to MAC, need help

Author
neinmcguitar
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2011/02/21 19:45:45 (permalink)

Switching to MAC, need help

I have been using Pro Audio 9 for almost 15 years. I have a LOT of archived music and sound files. I have made the switch to using an iMAC, and I want to be able to still access all my old files. I would like to stay with Cakewalk, and would certainly consider upgrading to Sonar if I need to, but I need to be able to run in Mac OSX. Has anyone here tried running through Boot Camp or Parallels on a Mac?
If not, is there some other program out there (Pro-Tools, etc.) that can import/convert my BUN files?

Thanks!

2 Replies Related Threads

larrymcg
    Max Output Level: -64 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1310
    Re:Switching to MAC, need help 2011/02/23 12:47:53 (permalink)
    I can't comment on running PA9 under Boot Camp or Parallels.

BUN files are proprietary to Cakewalk and I'm pretty sure that no other program can open them.
    I once moved from a Mac to a PC and had to use a brute force method that worked but wasn't much fun.  Based on my experience here's what I think you will have to do.

In PA9, open the BUN file and then export each audio track to a wav file.  Then export the midi tracks as a SMF (Standard Midi File).  Move the files to the Mac, open the SMF and import the wav files.  (I'm assuming that the Mac can import wav files or there is a utility that will convert to something the Mac likes.)