Panning after recording

Author
googoopie
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2011/02/28 21:58:14 (permalink)

Panning after recording

Ok, I'm new to this so please bear with me.  I have a two channel sound card, and I'm recording with my mic in the right input.  I set my input (in sonar) to the right channel (not stereo).  During playback, I can hear sound mostly on the right.  But as I'm listening, if I pan all the way left, I can still hear sound, but it sound very light with no low end (kinda like AM radio). 

My question is this:  Is it possible to record in such a way that I'd be able to hear the same full sound no matter if I pan left or right?  And if not, then how am I supposed to mix vocals in the middle if the sound is "heavier" on one side?

5 Replies Related Threads

lackluster strumming
    Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 211
    Re:Panning after recording 2011/02/28 22:31:08 (permalink)
    If you play something back that wasn't recorded by you, does it do the same thing? 
    googoopie
    Re:Panning after recording 2011/02/28 22:41:12 (permalink)
    Yes...actually, it's only through the headphones I guess.  I can't seem to tell a difference with the monitors.  It drives me batty when I record though.
    googoopie
    Re:Panning after recording 2011/02/28 22:54:03 (permalink)
    Thanks for your help.
    Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re:Panning after recording 2011/03/01 08:06:55 (permalink)
    Be sure you have the input set to MONO.

IN my system, Also a 2 channel interface.... When I click on the track control area (maybe double click), a box opens that allows me to set my track inputs from the available options.

1 is stereo input, 2 is right input mono, and 3 is left input mono. This is the actual channels on my interface that I am selecting from inside the DAW, telling it what channel I have audio input coming in on.