Need Help With Simple VVocal Harmony Technique

Author
HumbleNoise
Max Output Level: -46 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2946
2011/03/03 16:04:21 (permalink)

Need Help With Simple VVocal Harmony Technique

I'm not a learned musician and have limited vocal skills but really enjoy experimenting and learning new techniques. I just read a thread where someone had used VVocal to create a harmony and I was wondering how?

Do I need a lot of musical theory to get it right? Or is there a very simple example that might get me started on the right track?

I can sing a simple ditty in the key of 'C' for instance - what then?

Humbly Yours

Larry

Sonar X2 x64
MAudio 2496
Yamaha MG 12/4
Roland XV-88
Intel MB with Q6600 and 4 GB Ram
NVidia 9800 GTX
Windows 7 x64 Home Premium

12 Replies Related Threads

Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re:Need Help With Simple VVocal Harmony Technique 2011/03/03 20:52:36 (permalink)
    You simply use VV to transpose the track to different notes. You'd probably want to clone the original track to do this..... but that will create other issues. Things like phasing will crop up and also artifacts from the formants.  Not the best option.

The best way to use VV is to try to sing the harmony track as best you can and use VV to fix the notes as opposed to actually creating a harmony from the original.

If you have a problem "hearing the notes" set down at the piano and sing and play the melody, then find the harmony notes on the keyboard, then learn to sing them.... then record them..... use VV to fix the issues.

Having said that..... In the song Coming Home (on my soundclick page) I used Melodyne to move the female singer's vox to a harmony. doing this will work sometimes and others will leave noticeable artifacts of the move.  I use Melodyne.

My website & music: www.herbhartley.com

MC4/5/6/X1e.c, on a Custom DAW   
    Focusrite Firewire Saffire Interface

BMI/NSAI