I just discovered that.

Author
SeveredVesper
Max Output Level: -68 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1120
2011/05/15 15:59:37 (permalink)

I just discovered that.

Hum removal makes a BIG difference in the mastering stage. That was the missing piece, if not only of the pieces, that i was looking for regarding why my creations sound different from commercial ones. With the help of my mastering book my grandma bought me a year ago (The one by Bob Katz), i got introduced to WaveLab. It had a plug-in called RXHumRemover. I studied how it worked and i was amazed on the difference it made when i got to remove the 50hz 60hz hums.

Another things was exciters. I have found out the exciters don't really raise the whole EQ of the portion you are exciting, but only the harmonics of it, thus the harmonic exciter.

I also discovered that different compressors REALLY have different tones. I could imagine how a physical tube compressor would sound like. (Dreams)

Lastly, i discovered that i can hear 20khz freqs, so i don't really know if raising or leaving them be would make any difference to other people.

Check out my band's song on YouTube!

6 Replies Related Threads

AT
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 10654
    Re:I just discovered that. 2011/05/15 16:33:02 (permalink)
    Severed,

cool. 

You should really look into getting rid of the hums at the source, before recording.

Exciters - be careful.  It is really easy to overdo them.  It sounds good at first, but can get annoying after a while.

Comps/tone - it sounds like you are developing an engineers ear.  Cool.