Connecting studio monitors into SPDIF out on m/b soundcard?

Author
Carnifex
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2011/08/02 06:17:59 (permalink)

Connecting studio monitors into SPDIF out on m/b soundcard?

Hi there,

I just purchased sonar x1 as I'm just beginning to setup my home studio, and was contemplating buying the roland ma-15d micro monitors for playback. My aim is to record electronic based music as I have a korg r3 h/w synth as a midi controller for rapture, korg legacy softsynths etc etc and was wondering if these roland monitors will connect into the spdif out on my motherboard soundcard? I'm getting ZERO latency issues so far listening to playback of the midi and such through my sennheiser head phones, and any guitar, bass or external synth I record onto my boss br-600, then transfer those samples across via flash drive and into x1 when needed. I guess my main concern is will their be audio degradation connecting the monitors to a m/b soundcard, making the sound not come through as clear or a true representation of the source. :)

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers
post edited by Carnifex - 2011/08/02 06:19:32

8 Replies Related Threads

The Maillard Reaction
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31918
    Re:Connecting studio monitors into SPDIF out on m/b soundcard? 2011/08/02 07:07:09 (permalink)

You can go digital from your computer to the right Roland ma-15d Micro Monitor.

But then you'll have to go analog between the right and the left Roland ma-15d Micro Monitor.

Which introduces the opportunity for the right speakers to blare out pure sound while the left one will not come through as clear or true.

It's probably ok though because those speakers can't tell the difference.