What Waves plugins/order of plugins are you using on your Audio tracks? Acoustic gtr, etc.

Author
Toddlius
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2011/08/06 17:28:14 (permalink)

What Waves plugins/order of plugins are you using on your Audio tracks? Acoustic gtr, etc.

I recently upgraded from Sonar 7 (yeah, I'm a noob) to X1 producer and purchased a host of new hardware/software.  I'm running waves plugins since I bought the platinum edition and for hardware I'm running everything through my Focusrite Sapphire Pro 40.
I would love some input on what plugins are being used by those of you who spend a good deal of time recording to mold your audio into the "perfect sound".  Should I be using one type of EQ over another style?  The platinum waves edition came with a host of delays, verb, eq, compression, etc.  I understand mic techniques play a large role in this, simply looking for tips on what order I put my EQ, Compression, Phase and what order if it makes a difference to list my sends out for verb, delay, doubler, etc.  Anyone who uses Waves plugins that can give me some great insight, much appreciated.
Thanks.

19 Replies Related Threads

dariunas
    Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 125
    Re:What Waves plugins/order of plugins are you using on your Audio tracks? Acoustic gtr, e 2011/08/06 20:12:39 (permalink)
    I'm also on v7, not yet upgraded to X1 either.

I'm not sure about the various waves plug-ins, but usually when you have a suite like that, the various plug-ins are usually geared for different type of signals. Not that they sound better or worse, but that the way they're set up or a couple of feature, might make it more suitable for one signal source or another. E.g. compression A is well laid out for working with drums, and compression B seems more intuitively setup for vocals etc.

Some might be designed to emulate certain types of hardware equivalents or to add analogue/tube-like character to a sound.