RichardN
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2011/08/11 00:49:50 (permalink)

Newbie !! need some advice.....

Hello,
I am a newer user of Project5 LE, ver 2.0.1.66
My only MIDI device is an Edirol PCR-300
I also have the other Cakewalk bundle stuff- Sonar6 LE, Dimension LE, VST adapter 4, some awesome VST plug-ins.

I am having a gas playing with this stuff !! I am not really a talented musician by any means. Just a hobby.
My level is about at the stage where I can lay down multi-tracks and pretty much get the output I want, though not always.
I have "just" started to get serious about the Editor part and have been playing with 'time' and re-syncing tracks. Heady stuff, for me. Here, I get some very weird results, but I'm not worried. I just keep experimenting until I figure it out.
I am retired and have the luxury of time-to-play.

Here is my 'real' question:
I want to sing, into a digital mic, probably a 'Blue' brand mic., like the Snowball (with the isolation frame and spatter shield.)
I know that bringing in the audio feed is no big deal.
What I don't understand is this-- where the heck are any tools that can affect a mic track ??  That is-- where do I find the patches and/or 'whatever' to do simple brightening or maybe even frequency adjusting ?? Anything like a comb filter ?
Of course what I would drool over would be some cool stuff like octave shifting and chorus features (I know.. dream on...)
I know that a PCR-300 and P5 will never come close to simulating a Roland VP-770 !! But, what the heck..I can try.
I guess I need to emphasize that I am ONLY recording... I intend NO live usage whatsoever.

Anyway... If anyone has any hints, I'd really appreciate it. Perhaps I just don't have the correct product for this.. any suggestions ?? Of course I'm on a limited budget, otherwise I'd buy a high-end product.

This is the project I want to do---