Amazing Grace - your thoughts please

Author
wicker1000
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 43
2012/04/14 12:51:03 (permalink)

Amazing Grace - your thoughts please

Hi,
May I have some thoughts/inputs on this version of Amazing Grace?  My co-worker on vocals (first time being recorded).   I want to do justice to her great voice and keep a simple, uncluttered, soft mix.  Had to compress vocals to tame a bit.  I used Channel Tools with some minor delay to increase width...but trying not to gimmick it up at all.  Have a few random noises I'll try to clean up as well before doing a final mix.  Also used a Cakewalk strings synth - does it work OK in the mix?

Total newbie at this but would like to create a version that we're not embarrassed to send around to friends and family.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_songInfo.cfm?bandID=772053&songID=11573348

PS - it's 4/4 time which I know is unusual for this song.

Thanks folks.
wicker1000 

9 Replies Related Threads

morenoise
    Max Output Level: -69 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1074
    Re:Amazing Grace - your thoughts please 2012/04/14 13:08:45 (permalink)
    Hi James, this is absolutely stunning ! I wouldn't change a thing, but what do I know ; ) Beautiful.

Rik
    malcolmb
    Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 713
    Re:Amazing Grace - your thoughts please 2012/04/14 14:53:14 (permalink)
    Without doubt one of the very best interpretations I have heard of this lovely song. The vocals are wonderful - what a marvelous voice your co-worker has. As for the Cakewalk strings synth, it's fine - provides just the right amount of depth to the sound without being intrusive. My only very small suggestion would be to bring in the full string orchestra at the verse starting around 2:55 and then revert back to what you already have for the final verse. It would just add an extra dimension to an already excellent piece.

HS 7 XL
    XP Prof.
    4 GB memory