Using midi CC coming from a vst for automation in X2?

Author
Spencer
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 299
2013/06/08 14:41:50 (permalink)

Using midi CC coming from a vst for automation in X2?

Hey. I'm possibly being a noob here, but I can't figure out how that would work. I have LFOTool, a VST effect that I run as a synth so I can play it with my midi keyboard (though that's not relevant with my question). This vst can send midi CC (you can select the CC number it sends out) for automation purposes. Automatic automation if you will. I'd like to use it to directly control filters (and such) from other synths. But the only way I know to use CC to control things, is via the ACT interface. Obviously, being a VST, LFOTool does not show up in the ACT input menu. Anyone knows how I could set up such a routing? If that's possible at all in sonar... normally there should be a way. Haven't found info on that anywhere. Cheers.

edit- my best guess, which was setting a macro knob for the parameter I want to automate with a remote control for the CC number, and enabling automation write in the automation lane for that parameter, sadly doesn't work.
post edited by Spencer - 2013/06/08 14:57:01
swamptooth
Max Output Level: -53 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2229
Re: Using midi CC coming from a vst for automation in X2? 2013/06/08 16:18:59 (permalink)
EDIT - MY BAD... was thinking of a diff plugin
this doesn't work in realtime in lfo tool. 
you assign a cc in the bottom left this lets you drag the shape that's controlling the cutoff to a midi track. doesn't do it automatically.  

hth 
post edited by swamptooth - 2013/06/08 16:54:47

Arvid H. Peterson
Sonar X3E Prod / X2A  / X1PE | Cubase 9.5.1 | Reason 9.5 | Sibelius7 | Pure Data
Native-Instruments Komplete 10 Ultimate and a smattering of other plugins
Home-brewed VSTs 
Toshiba Satellite S855-S5378 (16GB RAM, modified with 2x 750GB HDDs, Windows 8.1 x64)