Can 2 focusrite Scarlett 18i20's (USB) work with SONAR X2 to get 16 XLR MIC ins?

Author
stickin
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2013/07/18 01:45:51 (permalink)

Can 2 focusrite Scarlett 18i20's (USB) work with SONAR X2 to get 16 XLR MIC ins?

My first forum post ever...
I'm a newbie building a studio with SONAR X2, wondering if I can get it to work with 2 focusrite 18i20's to get 16 XLR MIC inputs.  I am aware that tying a Octopre MK II to the Scarlett 18i20 will give 8 more XLR ins through ADAT, but only 4 at full 96KHz recording.  I hear there are issues with DAWs seeing two of the same units via USB and combining inputs.  Thoughts?

-Stickin

12 Replies Related Threads

lawajava
    Max Output Level: -55 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2040
    Re: Can 2 focusrite Scarlett 18i20's (USB) work with SONAR X2 to get 16 XLR MIC ins? 2013/07/18 02:55:08 (permalink)
    I have 2 of the Scarlett 18i6s. It's an excellent audio interface. But no, you can't do that. For starters, the Scarlett Mix Control software, which routes the signals, wouldn't have a way to handle that.

I also have an additional audio interface, the Profire 2626, which allows me to put in the 8 ADAT inputs - so I utilize the full set of channels that you mentioned.

Three options to consider:

1. Use a regular mixer and get some of your less important stuff captured there, and take the main outs from there to route to just two of the Scarlett's inputs. Unfortunately, you'd only capture those channels onto one stereo track or two monos if you recorded the mixer channels live.

2. Buy / use a bigger audio interface that has lots more inputs. That might add some expense but you could get all the channels you can afford / or require.

3. Record in different passes so that you don't need 16 XLRs all simultaneous in one live recording pass.