In Zeta+Classic. What are best controls to map to my midi controller?

Author
JerryCic
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2013/12/10 10:34:29 (permalink)

In Zeta+Classic. What are best controls to map to my midi controller?

I am new to all this.
Lots of videos instruct on how to map/learn my controller to a synth, but i cant find any that tell what rotors to map to what knobs on the soft synth
I have an axiom 25 and only have eight rotors and one slider.
For Zeta and Rapture, what are my best options for the most effective dynamic control?
I know it depends on the patch i am using, but there must be a collection of best options.
on Rapture there are like 50 or 60 rotary knobs in the synth. What ones do i choose to apply my measly 8?
Rapture, Zeta, and Dimension Pro.
I have X3 Producer. And Axiom 25(2nd gen)

Thanx
JerryCic 

1 Reply Related Threads

b rock
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 8717
    Re: In Zeta+Classic. What are best controls to map to my midi controller? 2013/12/10 18:39:18 (permalink)
    ... i cant find any that tell what rotors to map to what knobs on the soft synth

Huge subject here; largely determined by personal preference, genre, synth features, ... and sure to be hotly debated.  But all is not lost here for most current soft-synths.  I'll get to that below.

I have an axiom 25 and only have eight rotors and one slider.
    ... plus pitch and mod wheels, programmable pads, buttons, and possibly aftertouch, optional sustain & expression pedals.  There is a "feel" component to every kind of controller type.  Aftertouch is great when you don't have a free hand (as are sustain and expression pedals).  Buttons and pads work well in "toggled" settings, or for incremental sequences of control.  I prefer sliders for parameters with smooth, active adjustments, and knobs for one-off, or set-and-forget adjustments.  Something to think about before developing a controller plan.