RECORDING DRUMS INTO X3 STUDIO

Author
jcole
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2014/01/18 14:08:43 (permalink)

RECORDING DRUMS INTO X3 STUDIO

Hi, I am new to the sonar software, and do not have much experience recording drums. I just got a roland td-11 kit. I bought an M-track usb interface (with midi input and output). I can not figure out how to record my drums into sonar x3 studio. I would like to know how to record my drums with the kit sound, as well as record through midi (I have zero midi experience). My end goal is to record my guitar tract and then my drum tract, or vice versa, becoming a one man band :) I am new to all of this so bare with me. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Bryon
Vab
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 192
Re: RECORDING DRUMS INTO X3 STUDIO 2014/01/18 14:13:10 (permalink)
Look up the videos in the Sonar university on cakewalks website on Session drummer 3 under master classes.

I learnt how to use midi tracks, step sequencer and PRV effortlessly and with ease within 2-3 days of going through those videos and I also had zero experience with using midi before then.
FastBikerBoy
Forum Host
  • Total Posts : 11326
Re: RECORDING DRUMS INTO X3 STUDIO 2014/01/19 06:27:35 (permalink)
jcole
Hi, I am new to the sonar software, and do not have much experience recording drums. I just got a roland td-11 kit. I bought an M-track usb interface (with midi input and output). I can not figure out how to record my drums into sonar x3 studio. I would like to know how to record my drums with the kit sound, as well as record through midi (I have zero midi experience). My end goal is to record my guitar tract and then my drum tract, or vice versa, becoming a one man band :) I am new to all of this so bare with me. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Bryon

I'd suggest watching my freebie video on MIDI routing which you can find here.

That will give you a basic idea of MIDI routing and how it works.