Midi CC in Sonar X3 for hardware synth, need some help.

Author
EricDeluxe
Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 428
2014/02/09 08:42:18 (permalink)

Midi CC in Sonar X3 for hardware synth, need some help.

Hey

Firstly, sorry if this seem a bit confusing, I am not really sure what to ask for...

I asked for some help with Sonar X3 and Arturia Microbute in another thread (thanks for all help btw! Really great:)

I realized that the Microbrute only send Mod Wheel and Keyboard midimessages; which annoys me a bit. 
As MB is an 100 % analog synth I guess its great to have these options anyway, but still...

However, I want/need to record/automate LFO/Envelopes etc etc. I also want them to sync with Sonar. I am not experienced in using CC with hardware. Any help in the right direction would be helpful.

1. How (can I?) do I insert CC messages in Sonar X3 so that LFO/Envelope etc are automated/recorded and synced?
2. Perhaps it is easier to use the MB as a sound module and connect it with my Midi Keyboard (Novation SL MK2)?
3. I understand that is is possible to use analog sequencers to get around it, but it seem a bit overkill;)

http://soundcloud.com/ericdeluxe - my harder side
https://soundcloud.com/cirque-du-sonique my softer side
Sonar Platinum, Windows 10 (64 bit), MOTU Ultralite MK3 Hybrid, Novation SL MKII 25, NI KORE 2, NI Maschine, NI Komplete 9, Yamaha HS50m, AKG K240S, AKG Perception 200, Z3TA 2+, Soundtoys Native Effects, PSP Mixpack 2, several VSTs
tlw
Max Output Level: -49.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2567
Re: Midi CC in Sonar X3 for hardware synth, need some help. 2014/02/09 13:42:57 (permalink)
The Microbrute doesn't send or receive MIDI CCs other than the mod wheel. Full stop.