What is the next best thing?

Author
lazarusx
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2014/04/19 19:44:22 (permalink)

What is the next best thing?

I have been using Cakewalk Guitar Tracks Pro 2 for well over ten years now, and I am perfectly happy with it. I have tried various other DWS programmes including Guitar Tracks Pro 3, and a couple of (admittedly fairly old) versions of Sonar, and didn't get on with them at all. I still use GT2 daily.

But I have a big problem. My new computer runs Win8 and therefore won't run GT2. Can anyone recommend me a contemprary programme that will run on Win8 that is as close as one can get to GT2. 

Jon

10 Replies Related Threads

SteveStrummerUK
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31112
    Re: What is the next best thing? 2014/04/20 05:15:16 (permalink)

Hi Jon, and welcome aboard.

I recently posted a reply to a similar question: HERE

See if there's anything there that tickles your fancy, and if you need any further advice, post back with any questions you might have and we'll do our best to get you sorted.

Guitar Tracks 2 was my first foray into the world of digital audio, and although I've progressed through various Cakewalk products over the years, I still remember it with a certain fondness. If you do move on to a more current Cakewalk program (or any manufacturer's software for that matter), there will definitely be a learning curve to work through. The principles are definitely the same, but the implementation may be different, and generally speaking, more sophisticated.

My opinion, regardless of your needing to find something that will run on Windows 8, is that you have so much to gain by investing some time in using a newer program. I think that once you get comfortable with a different GUI, and better tools, you've got nothing to lose long term.