Copying midi clip causes midi track's audio and VST assignment to copy as well - why?

Author
shrike
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 15
2014/04/21 05:45:12 (permalink)

Copying midi clip causes midi track's audio and VST assignment to copy as well - why?

Hi, everybody!
I'm new to Sonar and to this forum so have some patience, please :-)

This is what I do:
I have Independence Pro VST and I'm using it in Sonar X3. I have several midi tracks with several instruments loaded, every midi track runs on different midi channel, those midi tracks are routed to separate audio tracks, every intrument in IndePro is assigned to different mixer channel, for example:
midi track 1 runs on midi channel 1, is routed to audio track 1 which is routed to VST's mixer channel Stereo 1, instrument One in IndePro is routed to mixer channel Stereo 1,
midi track 2 runs on midi channel 2, is routed to audio track 2 which is routed to VST's mixer channel Stereo 2, instrument Two in IndePro is routed mixer channel Stereo 2, etc...

This is my problem:
when I copy midi clip from midi track 1 to midi track 2, it doesn't copy just raw data but audio and VST assignment as well, meaning data from midi track 2 is still routed to audio track 1 and stereo channel 1 and VST instrument in midi track 1, ignoring the fact that midi 2 track's routing are properly routed to audio 2/stereo channel 2/midi channel 2/VST instrument assigned to midi channel 2. So, midi data in midi track 2 plays VST instrument assigned to midi channel 1, ignoring all those routings.

What I want is to copy midi clip to several midi tracks which all contain different instrument, so I can score orchestral part, in this particular scenario, strings, by assigning different notes to different instruments. But in my case, all those midi tracks play VST instrument assigned to midi track from which I've copied the midi clip.