metronome

Author
Stanley61
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
2014/04/24 15:06:10 (permalink)

metronome

Hi all,
Im new to sonar le which came with my roland quad capture. i've got it up and running but my initial attempt at recording guitar always records the metronome. i've tried pressing various buttons but cant crack it. any suggestions ?

13 Replies Related Threads

Cactus Music
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 8424
    Re: metronome 2014/04/24 16:27:04 (permalink)

The only way the metronome would find its way back to the guitar track is via the software mixer. 
    Or if you are set for "what you hear" and are actually still using your on board sound card. 

Pushing buttons is not how one will learn how Sonar works. You really need to take the time to read the help files. There are plenty of Videos and a  book by Scott Garrigus.  The info on the full versions applies to LE other than missing features, they all work the same. 

In case you have not bothered to read the tutorials on how to set up for recording audio, I'll explain briefly. 
    Most importantly: 
    Make sure you have installed the most up to date ASIO drivers from the Roland web site. I am pretty sure it also includes a software mixer GUI interface. Make sure you follow directions for implementing this first. 
    Check in Preferences Audio to make sure only the Roland is your audio device. Obliterate all traces of your on board sound card from within 20' of Sonar. Forget it even exists. 

The following is assuming your using a mike into input one (1) of your interface. 
    Play hard and set the levels just below peaking. 
    You should hear the guitar in your headphones via the Quad captures headphone jack. 
    Insert an audio track in Sonar and keep it in focus. (selected)
    Press I to open the track inspector.