Helpful ReplyTrying to Love Z3TA+ 2

Author
TomHelvey
Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 537
2014/07/24 02:50:05 (permalink)

Trying to Love Z3TA+ 2

I've been using Z3TA+ for a couple of years now. I've bought all kinds of preset packs for it, downloaded a couple good free ones (Muz3uM), and spent a lot of time learning how to use it. Every song I've done over the last couple years has at least one Z3TA+ in it. But...

For almost every preset I've created or used, low end is generated (hot around 20-40Hz) that just tends to muddy up the bottom without a serious low pass filter on the channel. Even with more oscillators, it never really sounds as full, smooth or friendly as a Sylenth. Stabs don't seem to translate very well, if you want serious attack you have to do the 4 octave curve on an EG routed to the osc levels trick. Saws seem to have a negative DC offset when used for bass. It also has a weird octave issue, in a lot of cases middle C sounds an octave lower than it should, I always have to transpose parts to get them to sound right (a lot of the bass patches don't sound right if you go much below middle C, flatulence). The noise oscillator doesn't seem to have enough high end. Feedback (ala Massive) would be nice. How about a programmable gater? Without categories and tags, patches are pretty difficult to locate. If you're looking for a specific sound you kind of have to memorize all the presets you have installed to come close, yeah there is an ad hoc directory structure for most libraries but it's not the same. 3rd party preset libraries are a bit hit and miss, most of the ones available are a bit dated. Sorry if this sounds crass but... Mutant, meh, how about something more generally usable? Maybe I'm too mainstream but how about a Calvin Harris bank?