AnsweredHow do you clean up your low end and make instruments sit well together?

Author
DragonBlood
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 142
2014/07/26 07:31:28 (permalink)

How do you clean up your low end and make instruments sit well together?

I'm still learning, I'm curious to know what more experienced people do to clean the low end of their mixes up.
So the bass doesn't sound distorted and dirty.

I had an issue with a bass guitar and a kick drum not going well together and I tried to EQ them together with no real luck. In the end I found that sidechaining a compressor and ducking the kick drum when the bass plays was the best solution, with some EQ to tighten up the sound.

Any methods you all use in particular to have a clean sounding low end?
Rimshot
Max Output Level: -29 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4625
Re: How do you clean up your low end and make instruments sit well together? 2014/07/27 11:36:41 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby DragonBlood 2014/07/29 21:19:20
http://therecordingrevolution.com/2010/07/26/the-fastest-way-to-clean-up-your-mix/

Rimshot 

Sonar Platinum 64 (Lifer), Studio One V3.5, Notion 6, Steinberg UR44, Zoom R24, Purrrfect Audio Pro Studio DAW (Case: Silent Mid Tower, Power Supply: 600w quiet, Haswell CPU: i7 4790k @ 4.4GHz (8 threads), RAM: 16GB DDR3/1600 
, OS drive: 1TB HD, Audio drive: 1TB HD), Windows 10 x64 Anniversary, Equator D5 monitors, Faderport, FP8, Akai MPK261
AT
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 10654
Re: How do you clean up your low end and make instruments sit well together? 2014/07/27 12:42:40 (permalink)