Recording acoustic guitar - small diaphragm condenser that much better?

Author
sharke
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 13933
2014/08/24 02:04:59 (permalink)

Recording acoustic guitar - small diaphragm condenser that much better?

As a disclaimer, I'm still a complete newbie at recording acoustic guitar. I seem to spend most of my time "in the box" messing with synths, which is a shame since acoustic guitar has been my forte since forever. So now I'm trying to incorporate it into my tunes a lot more. 

My only mic (apart from the one you get with ARC2) is a AKG Perception 220, a large diaphragm condenser. I think it cost me around $150 - a pretty good deal because to be honest I've been blown away by its quality. Recently I've been recording some nylon string guitar for a track. I've been pointing the mic toward the 12th fret at about 8-12 inches away, and I have to say it sounds pretty good. Crisp yet warm, and pretty detailed. It sits in the mix very well without too much tweaking. Recently I read that a small diaphragm condenser is better for classical guitar because it captures more detail. So I guess my question is, it it really worth me shelling out for a small diaphragm mic, when I'm quite happy with the results I'm getting from the Perception 220? Would I be that much impressed by the improvement? Do you think the extra detail I'd get would be lost in a mix (drums, vocal, bass etc) and that it wouldn't be worth the expense unless I was recording solo pieces? 

Also, I kind of wish there was a little less room in my recordings. It's not that bad but I would still much prefer a dryer track on which to add my own reverb. My room is completely untreated and it looks like it's going to stay that way (ARC2 is spoiling me!). I've seen sound absorbers that fit onto the mic like this and reduce reflections:

http://www.amazon.com/Microphone-Diffuser-Isolation-Absorber-Griffin/dp/B0082DAL3S

But they're quite pricey. Is it worth it? 

James