extreme latency trying to record midi track

Author
marquettE
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 16
2014/09/07 11:04:23 (permalink)

extreme latency trying to record midi track

A friend of my purchased  Yamaha E-drums so I asked him to come by and see if he could use it to trigger Superior Drummer which I use with EZPlayer.  We got Sonar 7 Producer to recognize it quickly, but when attempting to have him play along with pre-recorded audio, the latency was so extreme it was impossible to do.  Now, I have never experienced any latency issues on my computer, even recording 8 tracks simultaneously. 
I am however, pretty much of  complete novice using midi, especially with external controllers, so I figure I must be missing something obvious.  Is there anyone out there who might have any ideas about how to deal with this?   

9 Replies Related Threads

scook
    Forum Host
    • Total Posts : 24146
    Re: extreme latency trying to record midi track 2014/09/07 11:31:14 (permalink)
    The best way to avoid latency when recording MIDI data from external sources is monitor the audio generated from the source. This eliminates the need to monitor through the DAW for the MIDI source (in this case the Yamaha E-drums). Use the audio output from the drum kit brain mixed with the playback of the other tracks from the DAW for monitoring while recording the MIDI from drum kit.