record on new track while playing other tracks

Author
charliebrown60
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2014/10/13 23:00:42 (permalink)

record on new track while playing other tracks

Hello, I am new to music maker but not to music.  I would like to record a different part on a new track while playing my other parts to keep them together.  However, it seems that I am getting the recording from my computer output, which includes all of the sounds that are playing on my computer.  This, of course, includes the other tracks that are playing, so all of the tracks are combined to create a new track.  This is not what I want.  I want to keep them separate.

I tried making the input equal to the cakewalk sound center, but that didnt work.

I would greatly appreciate any help that I could get.  Thank you for your time.

9 Replies Related Threads

Kalle Rantaaho
    Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7005
    Re: record on new track while playing other tracks 2014/10/14 03:05:06 (permalink)
    Welcome to the forum!
    Asking a technical question you should always include your PC and soundcard specs. Add them to your footer like most here have done. Then you don't need to rewrite them every time you ask something. Otherwise it's hard to start guessing.
    The most common cause of what you described is that your soundcard has "What you hear" or "Stereo mix" setting active. That leads to recording all outputs.

SONAR PE 8.5.3, Asus P5B, 2,4 Ghz Dual Core, 4 Gb RAM, GF 7300, EMU 1820, Bluetube Pre  -  Kontakt4, Ozone, Addictive Drums, PSP Mixpack2, Melda Creative Pack, Melodyne Plugin etc.
    The benefit of being a middle aged amateur is the low number of years of frustration ahead of you.
    Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re: record on new track while playing other tracks 2014/10/14 08:28:04 (permalink)
    ^^^^ yep.