Sonar and Midi Device Identification

Author
johnkeel
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 56
2014/10/20 21:05:44 (permalink)

Sonar and Midi Device Identification

Hi everyone. 

I just bought two Midi to USB devices with 4 IN/Outs each. The product is Miditech Midiface 4x4.

And the thing is, Sonar somehow is having a hard time managing the two at the same time.
It seems like Sonar only pulls the midi device name, and since both use same names its working erratic. Sometimes it only pulls the inputs from one device and no outputs, other times my friendly names get mixed and are sent to the other device and so on...

Well im no expert in this type of stuff but the thing is i actually can use both midi interfaces at same time in most of the software i have, midiox works great, midiquest also works great, and so on...

Now, i did some testing and found out that i could, for instance, look for the device in windows registery and change the midi names for one device and it worked fine, but its a pain, it takes a lot of time and every time i restart the computer or i change the devices usb port it is all gone... i think that since these midi devices are Class Compliant (no drivers) somehow, information like the midi port names are pulled from the device firmware every time it is connected, so no matter what registery edits i make it wont stick.

So the solution seems to be either Sonar starts taking in account midi device hw route (even if devices have the same name the fact that they are in different usb ports should be enough for Sonar not to mix them up) or the Miditech guys need to supply some kind of firmware update that would change the midi names for the devices. At least this is my understanding, sorry if im way off, like i said, no expert here!

BTW, this seems like a problem to other devices too, searching in google i found stuff like this: