Getting Started

Author
DallasSteve
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 36
2014/11/15 17:32:49 (permalink)

Getting Started

I've been watching the tutorial videos and reading the Help tutorial sections and I have gone from understanding almost nothing about Music Creator to understanding a little more than almost nothing.  Background: 20 years ago I created about 20 songs in Cakewalk.  Ancient times.  I'm trying to get back into it because my son is interested and I think it could be a good hobby again.  The new software looks fantastic, but the Help is not as helpful as I need (and I am a computer programmer with a college degree in Accounting - not the dumbest kid on the block).

I want to be able to record from my Yamaha keyboard to MIDI tracks and from an electric guitar and microphone to audio tracks.  That doesn't seem like too much to ask.  I've got MC 6 loaded onto my Windows 7 laptop with 4 GB RAM.  I also have a Behringer mixer I can use when I know what to do with it.  I loaded an old MIDI song in Music Creator 6.  The first thing is does when I open an old MIDI file is tell me that there is bus A is assigned to a silent hardware output.  So I go to Help to learn about buses.  If buses are fundamental to using MC6 why is there no Help section about buses?  That is not a naturally obvious concept.  I did a search for bus in MC Help and there is very little directly related.  How am I even supposed to look at the buses?  I happened to stumble across the Console view and I think I see the buses now.  But it has no option to select Output, only Input.  Geez, Cakewalk, a little info would be nice.