Helpful ReplyStay ignorant

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
davdud101
Max Output Level: -69 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1058
2015/01/24 12:32:33 (permalink)

Stay ignorant

It has lately come to my attention that my most recent tracks I've been TRYING to put together absolutely suck.
I actually attribute this to having learned so much in comparison to when I was a simple high school sophomore just dipping my toes in music production...

But now I use compressors, I use EQ, and I simply can't find or make those key sounds, chords, progressions, tones, and whatever else, the way I could back then.

I can't make MUSIC anymore. I can't mix well, I can't write meaningful songs, and I don't get my own ideas.
Everything is so convoluted and NOTHING has helped change things back.

Maybe I peaked too early. Maybe I've run out of the really good ideas. Maybe my mind is so full of production that it's in the way of making things. (Maybe I'm digging for sympathy!)

I actually wish I could've stayed ignorant.

Mics: MXL 990, MXL R80, 2 x MXL Tempo XLRs, Cobalt Co9, SM48, iSK Starlight
Cans: Hifiman HE4XX, AKG M220
Gear: Cakewalk BBL - PreSonus Firepod - Alesis Elevate 3 - Axiom 49
DAW: Win10, AMD FX-8300, 16GB DDR3
Rain
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 9736
Re: Stay ignorant 2015/01/24 13:09:24 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby jamesg1213 2015/01/24 15:04:01
I'm 42, I've been writing music for the biggest part of my life, and I've also experienced my fair share of uninspired phases, a few of them which seemed to be the result of too much self-consciousness.

The good thing is that eventually, one outgrows self-consciousness. One day you realize that you're actually writing, playing and having fun again. 

Artists DO need a bit of ignorance. I mean, how else would one dare put lyrics down on paper for posterity after reading Shakespeare or Baudelaire... How does one even dare pretend to write music after hearing something like Bach's St. Matthew Passion?