A large Staff View feature list

Author
jfcomposer
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 29
2015/01/27 15:57:51 (permalink)
4.94 (17)

A large Staff View feature list

Disclaimer:  I'm still on X2, and I am by no means an expert.  Some of these items may have workarounds, and some of them may be solved and I'm not aware of it.  

1. Better interface for choosing note duration, since symbol icons were removed. The current context menu lists the durations as plain text which is not as quick to decipher than looking at a symbol. Perhaps a Maya-like circular arrangement of note durations (symbols) that pops up around your cursor when you middle click. I know you can rebind keys to choose them; but there should also be an easier GUI-based way to do it.

2. Make copy/paste more consistent in staff view: sometimes if I copy a section of music, move the now time, and paste, the selection will paste to different staves than the notes were originally on. You can get around this by using Paste Special (an unnecessary step IMO), but that's not as easy either, because...

3. The "Paste Special" track list is numeric. Make the Paste Special "starting at track" list display the name of the tracks (abbreviate them to 15 characters or something, if necessary). As it stands I have to look back at the staff view, find the corresponding track number, and choose it from a list. If the list simply displayed my track names ("Violins," "Tpt 1", etc.) it would be much easier to choose the correct starting track for the pasted data from there instead of having to cross-reference the staff view.

4. Integrate MIDI CC envelopes into staff view, or better integrate staff view into track view. This is to easily edit envelopes as the notes are laid down instead of having to switch screens to do it. I do use multiple monitors, but finding and lining up the envelopes with the correct notes (when the track view doesn't even display notes) is a workflow hindrance.