Open letter - audio over network IS the future !! Say so if you also believe it!

Author
yummay
Max Output Level: -83 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 396
2015/02/01 01:07:32 (permalink)

Open letter - audio over network IS the future !! Say so if you also believe it!

Hello !

I'm posting here a kind of "open letter" on the topic of audio over network solution (mainly, Audinate's DANTE solution). I'm now convinced it is the most interesting and practical solution available now and I would like people that are also sharing this opinion to participate in this thread!

Audio over network IS the future (not USB3 or Thunderbolt solutions). I'll try to be as detailed as I can be on the conclusions I have reached, while trying to keep this post as short as possible.

CONTEXT
I am a semi-pro producer / musician. Working on small projects on small budgets. I have to keep a day job in order for me to keep doing my "musical" activities. I need mobility, scalability, portability, and reliability. I've been working in the last 5 years using an ADAT/FIREWIRE based solution to connect my audio to my laptop running SONAR. Since firewire support has mostly been dropped, and Thunderbolt has not yet really gained popularity and USB2 audio devices are not always supported properly on USB3 ports I am finding myself STUCK in a "digital audio protocol no-man's-land" that will force me eventually to upgrade all of my audio and computer equipment simultaneously. I hate that prospect...

So, after some testing of USB solutions and after reflection on what I think are the basic needs of the majority of audio producers, I have reached the conclusion that audio over network solutions are a promising way to go! It feels to me that these solutions are the only ones that will offer some longevity...

So, I will now replace the ADAT card of my YAMAHA 01v2 digital mixer with the AUDINATE Dante Card and "go on the network" using the 30$ Dante Virtual Soundcard on my windows laptop.