Guidence on choosing a Virtual Modelled Cabinet?

Author
Kamikaze
Max Output Level: -45 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3013
2015/02/16 22:50:03 (permalink)

Guidence on choosing a Virtual Modelled Cabinet?

I'm new to guitars and now to modelled guitar amp+cab set ups. Can I get some general advice on cabinet selection when inside a DAW? I know I can shuffle through them and get an idea, but some pointers would help make more educated approaches. I have TH2 full plug and am demo'ing the Markbass (which looks like it's secured its future with me)

I guess that the bigger the cone the lower it's able to reproduce, but cabs can be 1x15, 2 x15, some 1x10, 2x10, 4 x 10 etc. If I have a a 15", it''s able to produce a fixed range, with a certain frequency response, is the the same applies no matter how many there are, just with two, there is twice the volume. 1x15" and 2x15", wouldn't they sound the same, just with the latter twice as loud, (but with potential phase issues). In the real world this matters, but in the recorded world, how does this matter, I just turn one up, or the other down. Why would someone pick a 4x10 over a 1x15 in a DAW, when the 1x15 has lower frequencies than the 10" can produce, no matter how many of them there are, and volume isn't a factor.

I'm guessing there is an answer to this, and something to do with character, but some pointers would help, when I'm faced with 9 options in Mark Sudio and 29 in TH2.

Cheers

28 Replies Related Threads

Beepster
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 18001
    Re: Guidence on choosing a Virtual Modelled Cabinet? 2015/02/17 10:55:05 (permalink)