Video Editing Software

Author
konradh
Max Output Level: -42 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3325
2015/02/24 23:31:47 (permalink)

Video Editing Software

Although I am just a hobbyist in the video world, I am quite familiar with PowerDirector 13 for creating and editing video.

In a couple of weeks, a videographer will be shooting a group of girls dancing in a green screen room for a music video for one of my songs.

Question: Can PowerDirector produce a very high quality result?  I know it will do the simple effects I need (crossfade, chroma key, picture in picture, etc.).  I am more concerned with whether or not the output will be good enough from a quality standpoint.

I told the videographer I was planning to edit myself using PowerDirector, and of course he advised against it; but I don't know if this is just because he wants the work, thinks he's better, or if he sincerely thinks PowerDirector won't cut it.

I would be happy for someone else to edit, but 1-there is the question of money, 2-I wasn't crazy about the editing of his I've seen, and 3-doing something yourself is usually the way to get it the way you want.

The thing is, I can't pay a choreographer, dancers, and cameraman and rent a studio and then end up with something bad.  (I already went though that went an animator/artist whom I now despise.)  The end product needs to be pro if I cam going to spend the money.

Thoughts on the quality and capabilities of PowerDirector?

Konrad
Current album and more: http://www.themightykonrad.com/

Sonar X1d Producer. V-Studio 700. PC: Intel i7 CPU 3.07GHz, 12 GB RAM. Win 7 64-bit. RealGuitar, RealStrat, RealLPC, Ivory II, Vienna Symphonic, Hollywood Strings, Electr6ity, Acoustic Legends, FabFour, Scarbee Rick/J-Bass/P-Bass, Kontakt 5. NI Session Guitar. Boldersounds, Noisefirm. EZ Drummer 2. EZ Mix. Melodyne Assist. Guitar Rig 4. Tyros 2, JV-1080, Kurzweil PC2R, TC Helicon VoiceWorks+. Rode NT2a, EV RE20. Presonus Eureka.  Rokit 6s. 

13 Replies Related Threads