Digitech GNX4

Author
ShellstaX
Max Output Level: -80 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 502
2015/03/23 20:22:26 (permalink)

Digitech GNX4

I've seen a Digitech GNX4 in a local pawnshop for $150. Seemingly good condition. Worth it or just getting too outdated? Better options for not too much more? Or worth just getting the wallet out to newer tech?

24 Replies Related Threads

kakku
    Max Output Level: -59 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1646
    Re: Digitech GNX4 2015/03/26 06:34:29 (permalink)
    Although I am not a expert here it sounds like the asking price is pretty big considering the unit is about 10 years old and might have gotten some beatings and sauces thrown at it and there are similar units at a sameish price range available. Best to move on or tell them to lower the price significantly. Just my thoughts nothing scientifically proven stuff.

Sonar X1 Studio, Duo-capture and Steinberg's UR22 mk2 interfaces, super fast (read snail like) dual core computers, Arturia the Player 25 and Goldstar midi keyboards, Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 phone
    kakku
    ston
    Max Output Level: -71 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 965
    Re: Digitech GNX4 2015/03/26 07:01:06 (permalink)
    Do you need all the extra features of the Digitech (drum machine, built-in recorder, mic preamp, USB computer interface) or are you after a guitar amp|cab modeller?  If the latter, then something like the Vox Tonelab might be a better bet (more modern, has valves, far more compact).
    ShellstaX
    Re: Digitech GNX4 2015/03/26 07:21:37 (permalink)
    Thanks for you thoughts gents - perhaps some further research to do.

I don't need it @ston :) ... but a definite appeal was the drum machine and layerable looping capability. I have preamp/interface solutions already. I saw it as a bit of a way to lay something down prior / enroute to the DAW and independently/live (home studio - not stage).

Historic reviews appear overwhelmingly positive.